Vehicle classifications

(mkmk2008) #1

[RIGHT]There are deferent classifications for vehicle depending on vehicle uses, length, number of axis , used fuel , and many other ways of classification.

Vehicle can be divided to tow main types
1- Passenger cars
2- Trucks and buses
The first type “passenger cars” can also be classified depending on:
FONT=Arial [/font]passenger cargo and volume
FONT=Arial [/font]the position of the engine
FONT=Arial [/font]the position of driving wheels
trucks can be classified according to :
FONT=Arial [/font]gross vehicle weight
FONT=Arial [/font]number of axles
vehicle also can be classified according to the engine
FONT=Arial [/font]the piston engine (reciprocating)
FONT=Arial [/font]the wankely rotary engine
cars that use piston engines can be also classified depending on :
1- number and arrangement of cylinder
2- firing order
3- valve arrangements
4- number of cycles
5- fuel systems
6- ignition system
The Australian vehicle classification divides vehicles to twelve class depending on it’s type and number of axle.

Vehicle type can be one of the following

1-Passenger vehicles
2-Motor cycles
3-Light commercial vehicles
4- Rigid trucks
5- Articulated vehicle
6-Non-freight trucks

The main classification divides vehicle to the following twelve class

1- Short vehicle
2- Short vehicle towing
3- Tow axle truck
4- Three axle truck
5- Four axle truck
6- Three axle Articulated vehicle
7- four axle Articulated vehicle
8- five axle Articulated vehicle
9- six axle Articulated vehicle
10- B Double
11- Double road train
12- Triple road train

Vehicle type (detailed)

1- four wheel drive passenger vehicle [4WD ](less than 10 seats)
2-Passenger van (more than10 seats)
3-Utility (GVM less than or equal 3.5Ton)
4-Goods carrying van (GVM less than or equal 3.5Ton)
5-Panel van
6- four wheel drive load carrying [4WD] (GVM less than or equal 3.5T)
7-Light truck (GVM more than3.5 Ton - less than or equal 4.5Ton)
8- 2 axle rigid truck (GVM more than 4.5T)
9- 3 axle rigid truck (GVM more than 4.5T)
10- 4 axle rigid truck (GVM more than 4.5T)
11- 2 axle prime mover
12- 3 axle prime mover
13- 4 axle prime mover
14- Ambulance
15- Tow truck
16- Fire engine / truck
17- Pass vehicle 10 - 19 seats
18- 2 axle bus more than 19 seats
19- 3 axle bus more than 19 seats

Trailer type (detailed)
1- Single trailer
2- B-double
3- Two trailer road train
4- Three trailer road train
Number of axles is also collected.

Vehicles also can be classified in terms of their purpose into three groups:

First group:
involving all the cars for passenger transport, including
buses .
Group II:
including the vans and units that might processed in
accordance with the uses.
Group III:
Special vehicles, such as vehicles with cranes, which are
widely used in industry, construction

other classification only depends on the number of axles that means dividing vehicles to four groups :

1- vehicles with tow axles , up to 1,3 m tall measured from the first axle (except for vans).

2- vehicles with three or more axles up to 1,30 m tall measured from the first axle (including vans).

3- vehicles with tow or three axles above 1.3 m tall measured from the first axle including vans with trailers

4- vehicles with four or more axles above 1.3 m tall measured from the first axle .


1- Austroads Guide to Traffic Engineering Practice: Part 3 – Traffic
Studies, 2004, p31.